Common Security and Defense Policy (CSDP)

The Common Security and Defense Policy constitutes the institutional framework for the growth and implementation of the European Union’s security and defense policy. It targets, among other things, the advancement of military and non-military capabilities of the EU, regarding crisis management and conflict prevention, as specified in the UN’s Charter. It involves either humanitarian missions, conflict prevention or peacekeeping operations, which can be of military or non-military nature. For the implementation of these missions, the Member States provide their forces voluntarily.

 Cyprus is pursuing the support of the Common Security and Defense Policy; it participated and until today still participates in a series of missions conducted by both the EU and the UN. Particularly, in the missions “ARTEMIS”, “EUFOR RD Congo” and “EUSEC Congo” in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, in “EU Support to AMIS II” in Sudan/Darfur of Africa, “EUPOL PROXIMA” in the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, in “EUFOR Tchad/RCA” in the Republic of Chad, “EUBAM Moldova-Ukraine” in Moldova- Ukraine and in “EUFOR Central African Republic”. Currently, Cyprus participates with officers in the headquarters of “EUTM MALI”,“EUNAVFOR ATALANTA” and “EUNAVFOR MED SOPHIA”

 Additionally, the National Guard contributes to the European Union’s Battle groups, which make up multinational, rapidly development, military battle groups that can operate either autonomously, or as part of a wider operation. Specifically, the National Guard participates with Greece, Romania, Bulgaria, Serbia and Ukraine in «HELBROC» Battle group. The “HELBROC” Battle group was in operational readiness in 2007, 2009, 2011, 2014, 2016 and 2018, as it is currently, in the first semester of 2020.

 Furthermore, officers of the National Guard are serving in the Military Representation to the EUMC as well as the European Defense Agency, the EU Military Staff and the European Security and Defense College.